Je me suis laissée avoir.

Je me suis laissée avoir.

zhuhm swee lay-say aa-VWAHR. Click below to hear this.*

I was had.

Céline feels trapped. Or rather, she feels that she was lured into marriage under false pretenses, deceived, conned. She fell for something Philippe said–something patently deceptive, such as “marry me”, and she buckled.

Of course, she has known all along that she and Philippe are not really a match. He is condescending and controlling and obsessive. She is wild, independent, disorganized. But he is handsome and sexy, and she can’t resist him.

So the wedding was inevitable and yet wrong on every level, and Céline is beginning to realize what she has done. She feels that she was taken in: Je me suis laissée avoir.

Literally, that’s hard to translate into correct English. It comes out something like I allowed to have myself. it looks more like I allowed myself to have, but then avoir needs a direct object. To have what? The direct object is me. Céline herself is had. The bottom line is that this expression can’t be dissected. Take it as it comes.

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

je_me_suis_laissee_avoir.mp3

Leave a Reply

