Mes Rillettes aux deux saumons

Mes Rillettes aux deux saumons

may ree-yet toh duh soh-MAW. Click below to hear this.*

My salmon spread with two kinds of salmon

I used to think that les rillettes were another unspeakable body part known only to butchers and people with strange diets, like pig’s trotters, brains, and tripe. (I know real, normal, people eat these things, but somehow they don’t fit into my menu….)

A couple of weeks ago, someone mentioned les rillettes au saumon on Twitter, and I became intrigued. Salmon is a pretty simple animal. What body parts do they possess that I had not heard of?

The answer is “none”. Les rillettes is the French name for a meat or fish spread or dip, with discernable chunks of meat in it. They are in the same family as le pâté, la mousse, and la terrine. My research turned up lots of recipes, including more than 20 on a French website called 750g.com.

I wanted to avoid cream cheese, crème fraîche, heavy cream, and the like, which most of the recipes included. I ended up combining several recipes into one of my own. It turned out to be delicious! Want the recipe? I’ll publish it here tomorrow, complete with photo.

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

mes_rillettes_aux_deux_saumons.mp3

Leave a Reply

