Je suis toujours là.

Je suis toujours là.

zhuh swee too-zhoor LAH. Click below to hear this.*

I’m still here.

It appears to mean–if taken word by word–I’m always there. But toujours can also translate as still, and can also translate as here. So here I am.

This is a good line to keep handy when you get busy. I have a client for whom I do a lot of translation in the summer and fall, and the season has begun. For this type of translation, I’m averaging just north of 3000 words per day, and my brain is fried at the end of the day. I’ll still be writing several times a week–as often as I can. In the meantime, Joyeux Quatorze Juillet! Happy Bastille Day!

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

je_suis_toujours_la.mp3

Leave a Reply

