Que le spectacle commence!

Que le spectacle commence!

kuh luh speck-tah-kluh kuh-MAHS. Click below to hear this.*
(It’s) showtime!

This may not have the “punch” or brevity of the English–seven syllables instead of two or three!–but it gets the job done. And isn’t un spectacle even more exciting than a mere show?

Of course, you won’t want to forget your lunettes so you can see the show. Of course, I wear mine all the time, so I can’t forget them.

Without my lunettes, I have to hold the page right up here so I can see it. In French, they are never called des spectacles, though sometimes they are called des verres, which literally means glasses.

For le spectacle, I might even want my jumelles, so I can see the stage. These seats are way up in the top balcony. No, it doesn’t mean twin girls, though it’s the same word. Here are my jumelles:

Well, here are our seats. Ready? Que le spectacle commence!

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

que_le_spectacle_commence.mp3

Leave a Reply

