Je suis quelque peu exaspérée.

Je suis quelque peu exaspérée.

zhuh swee kell-kuh puh egg-zaa-spay-RAY. Click below to hear this.*

I am very frustrated.

If you read Spk Frnch in the morning, you’ve probably already wondered: Where’s today’s post?

Here’s the story. I’ve spent more time today than I should have trying to format a poem for this platform. Really, it’s a beautiful poem, and I can’t wait to share it with you, but the layout on the page is important, and I can’t figure out the HTML I need to make it work.

So that will have to be some other day!

In the meantime, note how I express my frustration. Be careful with the French cognate frustré(e), because it has a strong sexual connotation! Stick with exaspéré(e) if you are annoyed, or dépité(e) if you are stymied. I am feeling both, so yes, I could use them interchangeably.

And note that adding quelque peu to reinforce the adjective has nothing to do with a little bit. It means a lot!

Posts will probably be short and late for the next few days, since I’ll be working at a client’s office. I’ll try to give you a little something to read every day, though! And I promise the poem one of these days. Thanks for your patience!

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

je_suis_quelque_peu_exasperee.mp3

One response to “Je suis quelque peu exaspérée.

  1. Thanks for explaining. I guess a lot of us were concerned. You have been so very faithful with your posts. Thank you for that!

Leave a Reply

