Il m’a dit carrément que…

Il m’a dit carrément que…

eel mah dee kaa-ray-MAH kuh… Click below to hear this.*

He told me straight out that…

Exactly what he said to me, I will leave to your imagination. It probably wasn’t too pleasant. Maybe he said my dress made me look fat, or that my writing stinks. (Note to the curious: I am not speaking about my wonderful husband here. He never says such things.)

Whatever is was, he said it squarely, which makes me think of using a T-square and a level to line up the words precisely. But when people make blunt statements, it’s more like throwing blocks at someone. It’s disorderly, and those corners can hurt.

Of course, what one says carrément is not necessarily an insult. It could be no more offensive than stating an opinion when no one else is willing to declare herself. As in “Enough discussion. Let’s go to the movies, that’s cheaper than the concert.” nothing wrong with that.

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

il_m_a_dit_carrement_que.mp3

Leave a Reply

