Je fais chou blanc.

Je fais chou blanc.

zhuh fay shoo blah. Click below to hear this.*

My mind is a blank.

Blanc means both
white
and blank. You knew that, right? And Le chou is cabbage. I suspect you already knew that, too.

So this is a frightening thought. I am making white cabbage. Really? What does cabbage have to do with the fact that My mind is a blank?

A blank mind feels more like fluffy teddy bear stuffing than cabbage, if you ask me. Uncooked cabbage is crunchy. It has texture and character and a distinctive taste. Cooked cabbage is bland, mushy, and dull, and it’s not something I want my brain to resemble.

Come to think of it, maybe that’s the point. I’m throwing out the mental cabbage and going shopping for some ideas. See you later!

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

je_fais_chou_blanc.mp3

Leave a Reply

