Il m’a posé un lapin.

Il m’a posé un lapin.

eel mah poh-zay uh laa-PAA. Click below to hear this.*

He stood me up.

Talk about expressions that make no sense…this one qualifies in two languages!

All I can think of, when I hear the English, is propping a mummy upright against the wall. Only I’m not so sure I want to be the mummy being thus positioned. Or be the mummy at all. And then I think of my friend Lynn, who said that they “stood him up” just hours after his knee replacement surgery. Did they prop him against a wall too? (I’m sure he wished they had.) Or fail to show up for his physical therapy appointment?

Then there’s the French. Il m’a posé un lapin is hard to translate literally, but it’s something like He put me a rabbit.

Don’t even try to make sense of it. What do rabbits have to do with being stood up, anyway? And did he give me the rabbit, or put it down in front of me, or what?

Never mind. He didn’t keep our date, and I’m annoyed. Maybe that’s where the rabbit comes in. How would you feel if someone dropped off a bunny for you instead of meeting you at the appointed time and place?

*Some mobile phones, such as Blackberries, won’t display the audio player. If no player appears, here’s an alternative link to the audio file:

il_ma_pose_un_lapin.mp3

Leave a Reply

