Je me suis faite mal aux genoux.

Je me suis faite mal aux genoux.

zhuhm swee fett maa lo zhNOO. Click below to hear this.

I hurt my knees.

Seems to happen to every runner, sooner or later! Françoise said this the other day, so I thought I’d share it with you.

So here’s what you need to know–about the French, not so much about the knees:

1. Faire mal à means to hurt (someone or something).

2. Se faire mal means to hurt oneself.

3. Se faire mal à means to hurt one’s (insert body part here).

4. Le genou is the knee, les genoux is knees.

5. When you name your own body parts, you generally use a definite article (le, la, les) to refer to them.

6. As a result of #5, you need an indirect object or a reflexive object (me, te, se, for example) to clarify whose body part you are talking about.

7. When à and les collide, they make aux.

8. When you turn a reflexive verb like se faire mal into the past tense, you have to use être for the auxiiary verb.

9. And if the subject is feminine, you have to make the verb agree: faite.

10. When you put that all together, you get Je me suis faite mal aux genoux. The “goofy English” version goes like this: I – to me – have made – hurt – to the – knees.

Bonus rule: Practice this sentence until it slides right off your tongue. That will make it a model for the next time you need a similar sentence, like Il s’est fait mal aux genoux or Je me suis faite mal aux pieds.

Leave a Reply

