Arrête de nous ennuyer, avec ton Dagobert!

Arrête de nous ennuyer, avec ton Dagobert!

aa-RETT duh noo zah-nwee-yay, aa-veck taw daa-go-bare. Click below to hear this.

Stop boring/annoying/bothering us with your Dagobert!

Just this one more post! I can see a few of you still hanging around, hoping for a translation of the song words. (See this link for the French.)

Good king Dagobert
Put his pants on backwards;
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
Your Majesty
Is wearing his pants wrong.
That’s true, the king said to him.
I’ll put them back on the right way.

Good king Dagobert
Was hunting on the Anvers plain;
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
Your Majesty
Is very out of breath.
That’s true, the king said to him.
A rabbit was running after me.

Good king Dagobert
Wanted to go sailing on the sea.
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
Your Majesty
Is going to get drowned!
That’s true, the king said to him.
People will be able to shout: “The King is drinking!”

Good king Dagobert
Was eating dessert like a pig.
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
You are quite a glutton,
Don’t eat so much.
That’s true, the king said to him.
I’m not as much of one as you are.

Good king Dagobert
Had a big iron saber.
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
Your Majesty
Could hurt himself.
That’s true, the king said to him.
Have them give me a wooden saber.

Good king Dagobert
Was fighting every which way.
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
Your Majesty
Is going to get himself killed.
That’s true, the king said to him.
Quick, put yourself in front of me.

When Dagobert died,
The devil came running right away.
Great saint Éloi
Said to him: Oh my king!
Satan is going to come by,
You need to make your confession. Alas, said the good king,
Couldn’t you die for me?

If you don’t recognize the past-tense verb forms in the lyrics, that’s because it’s the literary, or historical, past. It’s not much used anymore.

And when you want to say Stop doing that, you can’t use the French equivalent of the -ing form, which is-ant. You have to use de + the infinitive: Arrête de faire ça!

Now I promise I won’t mention Dagobert again (for a while, at least), if just promise to keep reading Spk Frnch. Deal?

Leave a Reply

