Je vais faire un peu de bricolage.

Je vais faire un peu de bricolage.

zhuh vay fair uh puh duh bree-ko-LAZH. Click below to hear this.

I’m going to do a bit of do-it-yourselfing.

I know, I know, do-it-yourselfing is not an acceptable form of that English word. And it’s awkward. But it works, doesn’t it? What would you have me say? I’m going to do it myself a bit? I’m sticking to my version.

You don’t get into that kind of trouble with the French. There is a clear noun form, le bricolage (DIY), and a clear verb form (bricoler). The verb means to practice the activity of do-it-yourself, but also to cobble together something. At the least, it clarifies that you are not doing this work professionally.

When you use bricoler or faire du bricolage to describe your plans for the weekend, it suggests that you will be puttering around the house, doing undefined chores or fixing a little of this and a little of that.

When you’re done, stop by my Mother’s place, will you? The Maintenance Staff takes care of most repairs, but I think she has some boxes she’d like moved, and her computer needs some attention. Merci!

One response to “Je vais faire un peu de bricolage.

  1. Thanks for the suggestion. Maybe the right person or persons will take the hint.
    Love, Me

Leave a Reply

