Je fais une laryngite.

Je fais une laryngite.

zhuh fay ewn laa-raa-ZHEET. Click below to hear this…but turn up your volume!

I have laryngitis.

That’s right, my friends, I have no voice at all at the moment! So after today’s post (an elegant illustration of the meaning of the phrase), until I get my voice back, you’ll be hearing someone else’s voice.

As a matter of fact, Je fais aussi une bronchite, I also have bronchitis. (The French is pronounced zhuh fay o-SEE ewn braw-SHEET.) Why do we use faire instead of avoir? You can actually use either, but faire is often used for a passing ailment, as opposed to a chronic condition.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

One response to “Je fais une laryngite.

  1. Pingback: Je fais une bronchite. | Spk Frnch

Leave a Reply

