Ça me fait venir l’eau à la bouche !

Ça me fait venir l’eau à la bouche !

sahm fay vuh-neer LO ah lah boosh. Click below to hear this pronounced!

That makes my mouth water!

Or, if you prefer the usual contorted Spk Frnch literal translation: That makes water come to the mouth to me!

Which gives us an opportunity to mention a very useful construction in French, fondly known as faire faire by those who love talking about odd grammar rules.

It’s all about cause and effect! When you want to say that you have had something done, but didn’t do it yourself, that’s when you use faire faire. For this to make sense, you have the remember that faire means both make and do. You are making something be done. You are the agent, causing an action but not accomplishing the action yourself. You give the order, pay the contractor, or make an appointment with the vendor.

So:

J’ai fait faire une analyse. I had an analysis done.

Je me suis fait couper les cheveux. I got my hair cut.

Ça me fait venir l’eau à la bouche. That makes the water come to my mouth (that makes my mouth water).

And here are a few more of the agents that could cause the effect in question today (did you notice the clever way I scattered some of them throughout the post? It’s dinnertime; I couldn’t help myself):

Leave a Reply

