Bon anniversaire!

Bon anniversaire!

buh naa-nee-vair-SAIR!  Click below to hear this and two more sentences pronounced!

Happy birthday! Happy anniversary!

But how do you know which is which?

When you are wishing a happy day to someone, you both know, so there’s no need to worry about it!

But if you have to give a date, you do it this way:

L’anniversaire de ma naissance est le 17 août. Literally, the anniversary of my birth is August 17.

L’anniversaire de mon mariage est le 21 août. The anniversary of my marriage is August 21.

That’s right, friends, I just had a birthday and today I have an anniversary. My husband, Miles, and I have been married for 45 years today. So I’m going to stop now so we can go celebrate! Lunch with a good friend, maybe a good movie, dinner in downtown Chicago. See you on Monday!

Share or bookmark this! AddInto

2 responses to “Bon anniversaire!

  1. Congratulations on both! I’ve been enjoying your daily missives for months. I didn’t know you were in Chicago (as am I); somehow I assumed California. Merci bien.

Leave a Reply

